Monday, August 3, 2009

Sequoia/Dominion Voting System takes New York?

It looks like Sequoia aka Dominion Voting Systems has taken NY. There are 62 counties in the State of New York, and 54 will be or are using the Sequoia Image Cast. Here's a list from the New York State Board of Elections website:

1. Allegany County
2. Broome County
3. Cattaraugus County
4. Cayuga County
5. Chautauqua County
6. Chemung County
7. Chenango County
8. Clinton County
9. Columbia County
10. Cortland County
11. Delaware County
12. Dutchess County
13. Essex County
14. Franklin County
15. Fulton County
16. Genesee County
17. Greene County
18. Hamilton County
19. Herkimer County
20. Jefferson County
21. Lewis County
22. Livingston County
23. Madison County
24. Monroe County
25. Montgomery County
26. Nassau County
27. Niagara County
28. Oneida County
29. Onondaga County
30. Ontario County
31. Orange County
32. Orleans County
33. Oswego County
34. Otsego County
35. Putnam County
36. Rensselaer County
37. Saratoga County
38. Schoharie County
39. Schuyler County
40. Seneca County
41. St. Lawrence County
42. Steuben County
43. Suffolk County
44. Sullivan
45. County
46. Tioga County
47. Tompkins County
48. Ulster County
49. Warren County
50. Washington County
51. Wayne County
52. Westchester County
53. Wyoming County
54. Yates County

The ImageCast combines an optical scanner with a disabled accessible device, and theoretically a disabled person could be voting on the machine at the same time that abled voters were also feeding their ballots into the machine. The disabled voter would be on one end of the machine while the other voters accessed the other end.

A gap that had allowed ballots to accidentally feed straight to the ballot box without being scanned has been fixed.

The State Board of Elections has a video of how to use the ImageCast here, if you would like to learn more about its actual operation.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Comments must be approved to eliminate spamming.

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.